I’m selfish. I’ll admit it. And, honestly, in some ways I’m not that ashamed of it.  Even if I was the kindest person in the world, I would still be completely selfish.  Every good thing I do, I do either because it makes me feel good to do it, or because it would feel worse not to.  Love is the closest thing I have to unselfishness, and yet it is also completely selfish.  I love someone, so I treat them with love, because it makes me feel good to treat them with love, even if I’m not getting any in return.  What they call self-sacrificial love is still selfish, because whatever I’m sacrificing is not as precious to me as knowing that I did what is best for the person I love.  I think that is why Jesus said “No one is good–except God alone.”


 


Luke 18:18-27


18A certain ruler asked him, “Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?”   19“Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good–except God alone. 20You know the commandments: ‘Do not commit adultery, do not murder, do not steal, do not give false testimony, honor your father and mother.’” 21“All these I have kept since I was a boy,” he said.    22When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” 23When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was a man of great wealth. 24Jesus looked at him and said, “How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God! 25Indeed, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.”  26Those who heard this asked, “Who then can be saved?”  27Jesus replied, “What is impossible with men is possible with God.”

One response to “

  • fallbaby03

    AMEN.  I feel selfish a lot of the time too.  I think though at times, the devil can play off this and make us feel more selfish than we actually are.  Does that make sense?  Although there is selfishness beneath the surface, if the Devil sees us doing something for the glory of God, he may choose that moment to dredge up the guilt of selfishness.  This not only makes us feel bad, because it is not of God, it makes us not want to continue as we have been for fear that it is only out of selfish motives.

Leave a Reply

