You stay here- and I’ll go look for wood
Do not fear- I’ll be back soon enough
Do not let the fire die- neither let it burn too bright

You stay here- and I’ll go look for bread
and if I can- some sugar for the kids
Dry your eyes, I’ll be alright- I know where they’ve laid the mines

You stay here- and I’ll go look for coats
I think I saw some out on the road
We’ll wash them clean with melted snow- The kids won’t ever have to know…

You stay here- and I’ll go look for guns
I think I know where they buried some
If a tiger comes at night- we won’t go without a fight

You stay here- and I’ll go look for God
It won’t be hard, ’cause I know where he’s not
I will bring him back with me- make him listen- make him see…

You stay here…

You stay here- and I’ll go look for wood…


 


Words and music by Richard Schindell off ‘Somewhere near Patterson’

Leave a Reply

