Do you remember when you were small, and a pair of strong hands grabbed your ankles and hung you upside down, or spun you around in a circle?  Do you remember getting a piggy back ride?  That’s me now.  Yesterday I helped one kid go across the monkey bars because she couldn’t do it herself.  It consisted of holding most of her weight while she moved her hands from bar to bar.  Next thing I knew, there were four kids lined up to go across the monkey bars…with help.  Who would’ve imagined how much joy such little effort could bring!  And one girl got scared, and I told her I’d catch her if she fell…she fell, and when I caught her, she smiled.  What great responsibility to be the one trusted to catch a child when he falls.  And then the two year old asked for help climbing a ladder.  I told him I was right there and I kept my hands hovering near him, just in case, but he climbed the whole way up by himself.  When I told him that, the look of complete ecstasy that covered his face took my breath away. And I realized that I’ve never seen that look on the face of anyone over 10…rarely on anyone over five because the joy of an ‘old’ person is tempered by their knowledge of the pain in the world. That look on his face may just be the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. 


 


Psalm 19:8


The precepts of the LORD are right,
       giving joy to the heart.
       The commands of the LORD are radiant,
       giving light to the eyes.

4 responses to “

  • JoshuaKeener

    hey wassssup?  hows PA?  francine rivers hmmm.  jon is reading a book by her and he talks about it all the time.
    don’t get your nose pierced while I’m gone.

  • Anonymous

    esther…thanks for bringing a smile to my face.  i absolutely loved your post.  i have seen that look on a child’s face and it makes you realize how wonderful life is.

  • pianomon4

    Francine Rivers is amazing 🙂 Read the “Mark of the Lion” Series…
    We’re enjoying ourselves here – the village is just the way I remembered it – except many of my friends have gone on to college or have moved elsewhere.  Still, I’m missing the states and looking forward to coming back 🙂

  • JoshuaKeener

    jon was reading “a voice in the wind” by francine rivers (i’m writing this as I see he told you already).  anyway now I’m reading it, and it is so gory!  its violent, but hopefully it will get better.

Leave a Reply

