What can I even say.  I don’t believe that people are basically evil.  I believe that human nature has evil in it, but I believe the core of a person is good, the way God intended us to be…it’s just that we mess it up.  I believe that people do bad things sometimes because they are stupid, sometimes because they are scared, and very often because they are hurt.  I don’t know which of those it is in each case, but I do know that I have as much potential to be ‘bad’ as anyone else because I am very often stupid, scared and hurt.  The advantage I have over some people is a solid upbringing, good friends, and faith. I don’t want to stop expecting the best from people…I don’t want to start assuming the worst.


 


“Oft expectation fails, and most oft there
Where most it promises; and oft it hits
Where hope is coldest, and despair most fits.”


–From All’s Well That Ends Well (II, i, 145-147)

One response to “

Leave a Reply

