“…but now misery has come home, and men appear to me as monsters thirsting for each other’s blood…”


 


Sometimes it’s so hard to be hopeful.  Tom Fox lost his life while following God’s call to serve in Iraq.  No matter what your political views, I believe what he did was admirable and commendable.  It’s so easy to pass judgment and argue about whether what he was doing in Iraq was the most effective way, but in reality, he knew the risks he was facing, and we should all be humbled that he was willing to give his life for God and for people.  And honestly, what more could you want from a man?


 


“Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” -Matthew 22:37-40


 


“When I reflect, my dear cousin, on the miserable death of Justine Moritz, I no longer see the world and its works as they before appeared to me.  Before, I looked upon the accounts of vice and injustice that I read in books and heard from other as tales of ancient days and imaginary evils; at least they were remote and more familiar to reason than to imagination; but now misery has come home, and men appear to me as monsters thirsting for each other’s blood. … Alas! Victor, when falsehood can look so like the truth, who can assure themselves of certain happiness?  I feel as if I were walking on the edge of a precipice, towards which thousands are crowding and endeavouring to plunge me into the abyss.”


-Marry Shelley: Frankenstein

One response to “

Leave a Reply

