HIV

It’s so easy to forget. For a time, I felt the pain of those suffering around me. I looked into the face of an HIV positive child and wished like anything that I could take it from him. I went to bed with a sick heart and woke up unrested. I don’t believe it is wrong for me to now be happy; to appreciate the way God has blessed me. I don’t think it is wrong to be sad; to remember for a time the things – the people – that I used to know. But in those in-betweens, when I am indifferent…it is those times when I should be shamed for my inaction. I have a paper to write: a paper about HIV and its treatment. This is a paper I have put off because I’ve been tired and unmotivated. Only now do I start working, knowing, with a sense of urgency, that it is due tomorrow. Because I do not carry that virus. I do no understand the perpetual urgency that it creates in all who are infected, and in their loved ones.
Proverbs 31:4-7
4 “It is not for kings, O Lemuel-
not for kings to drink wine,
not for rulers to crave beer,
5 lest they drink and forget what the law decrees,
and deprive all the oppressed of their rights.
6 Give beer to those who are perishing,
wine to those who are in anguish;
7 let them drink and forget their poverty
and remember their misery no more.
-Thursday, April 14, 2005

Leave a Reply

