Human

Remind me
In a hundred years to tell you
What I was feeling tonight.
Later, when it’s more safe to say.
When my ideas and feelings and philosophies
Are neatly packed and organized again
And whatever doesn’t fit my mould is already
Gone.
Later, when I’ve learned to accept
What I am, and what I’m not, and what
Everyone else is.
Later, when I am wiser
And not selfish enough to feel
Hurt.
Or small.
Remind me in a couple days or months
Or hours
To tell you what was going through my head
Back when I was
Human
For a moment.

Philippians 4:12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.
-Sunday, February 26, 2006

Leave a Reply

