Tsunami

If a tidal wave wiped out my entire community….if it killed my family, destroyed my home, erased all that I had ever known…….If I was left standing on an empty beach with cars and debris floating the water…..If I walked through a room of dead bodies to identify my relatives…..how can your heart continue to beat when it is broken? When your spirit has been crushed to the point that you cannot even cry, wouldn’t you hate death more for eluding you than for taking away everything you love? Over 13,000…can anyone explain that number to me? We are called to love…If I had loved those over 13,000…if I had loved even one of those over 13,000, how could I go on? How could I sit around a table and joke about dating and eat Pizza? How could I go downstairs and watch Shrek II. How could I come home and tease my heart with the emotions – even the pain – in a movie. How could I get on the computer and write my thoughts on a meaningless website. If I had loved even one of them, the pain would be too great. If I had loved one of them, then “over 13,000” minus one would still have been swept away, untouched by my life….and I may not have made a big enough difference even for that one. But this is speculation…because I didn’t….I didn’t even love one of them.

This is what the LORD says: “A voice is heard in Ramah, mourning and great weeping, Rachel weeping for her children and refusing to be comforted, because her children are no more.”
-Jeremiah 31:15

Rachel, weep now.
-Monday, December 27, 2004

Leave a Reply

