You may remember Peter Arnett from CNN. I ran into him one day in O’Hare and I said, “Peter, I’m out of stories. Speakers live by stories. Do you have any good stories?”


He said, “I’ve got one for you. Last week I was on the West Bank, and a bomb went off, a terrorist bomb went off. Bodies were flying through the air. There was blood all over. A man came running up to me, holding in his hands a girl that was badly wounded, bloody from head to toe. The man holding this little girl in his arms said to me, ‘Mister, the soldiers have sealed off the area. They won’t let anybody in and anybody out. If I don’t get her to a hospital, she is going to die. You can see that-that she is going to die if I don’t get her out of here. You’re the press; you can get us out of the lines. Please, please will you help?'”


Peter told me, “What could I do? I put them in the back of the car, I covered them with a blanket, and we made our way through the lines. And on the way to Tel Aviv, he kept on saying, ‘Go faster, please, mister, go faster,’ and then he started moaning, ‘I’m losing her, I’m losing her, I’m losing her!'”


Peter said, “When we got to the hospital, we rushed the girl into the operating room, dropped her on the table, came out, and sat on the bench outside the operating room totally dissipated and exhausted because of the tension that we had just been through. I was taking a deep breath when the doctor came out of the room and said, ‘She’s dead.’ The man convulsed in tears. He screamed and he cried, and I put my arm around him and tried to comfort him. I said to him, ‘I don’t know what to say. I don’t have any children. I don’t know what it’s like to lose a daughter.’


The man looked up at me and said, ‘Oh, that little girl isn’t my daughter. That Palestinian girl is not my daughter. I am a Jewish settler.’ And then he said, “But maybe the time has come when all of us must learn to look on every child as a son and as a daughter. Maybe the day has come when we must discover what it means to be part of the family of God.'”


-Dr. Tony Campolo

One response to “

Leave a Reply

