So yesterday, 5:45, I’m sitting down to try to quickly eat some of this really yummy rice and beans my mom made for supper before heading to work, and we look out the window and everything in our yard is blowing away.  We rush outside…almost get the screen door ripped off.  Mom goes for the towels on the clothes line, and I go for the blowup toys in our mini-pool… including a giant seal.  The seal was hard to get in the door.    We get back inside and it is strangely gloomy. Electricity is out, and it hasn’t even started raining yet.


So I get in the car and speed away, trying to get to work before the storm.  “BEEP. BEEP. BEEP. A severe thunderstorm warning has been issued for Lanc…” Blah blah blah.  We all know.  So two red lights are out on the way to work.  I drive through them cautiously and speed up again as the dark blanket of rain moves closer in my direction.  Too late.  3 minutes from work and WOOSH!  Can’t see a thing but sheets of rain tearing across the road in front of me.  Driving slowly, I manage to get to work.  Get pretty much drenched running three feet from my car to the barn.  Start working, and the lights go out.  Oh brother.  But they come back on soon, and I finish work w/ little problems. 


10:00, heading home from work I see flashing lights ahead of me.  Someone musta crashed at one of the lights that was out right in front of Donagal High School.  Intersection blocked off and men in reflective jackets waving me to turn right.  So I turn right.  I prob. coulda turned left again into the high school parking lot, but there was a car sitting across the entrance.  So it I end up taking a 20 minute detour through scary back roads.  Haunted trees wave over head, and the lightning continues to flash.  Every once in a while, a tree limb dances across the road.  Then the road begins to narrow, and two gigantic headlights glare in my rearview mirror.  Gasp.  I’m gonna die.  After what seems like forever of turning left  and left and left whenever I see a road, I come to an intersection.  Tada!  I’m in Mount Joy. 


I continue on my way, and finally arrive home.  Electricity still out.  No water.  What to do? I just worked in the barn!  So I managed to wipe off my face and hands a bit, and go to bed. 


Electricity came on again at 7:30ish this morning.


 


Psalm 107:29


He stilled the storm to a whisper;
       the waves of the sea were hushed.

2 responses to “

Leave a Reply

