I thank all who have loved me in
their hearts,

With thanks and love from mine.
Deep thanks to all

Who paused a little near the prison-wall

To hear my music in its louder parts

Ere they went onward, each one to
the mart’s

Or temple’s occupation,
beyond call.

But thou, who, in my voice’s
sink and fall

When the sob took it, thy
divinest Art’s

Own instrument didst drop down at
thy foot

To hearken what I said between my
tears, . . .

Instruct me how to thank thee!
Oh, to shoot

My soul’s full meaning into
future years,

That they
should lend it utterance, and salute

Love that endures, from Life that disappears!

~Elizabeth Barret Browning

Leave a Reply

