Rain

I am not a man of many words.
I am not an educated woman.
I do not have the power of persuasion.
I am not an educated woman.

But if you listen,
Rain!
Rain is coming.
Rain falls on my shoulders
To the ground.
Listen!
Rain!
Rain is coming.
And it rises to my shoulders
From the ground.

I am not a writer or a preacher.
I am not an educated woman.
I do not have the power of fine words.
I am not an educated woman.

But if you listen,
Rain!
Rain is coming.
Rain falls on my shoulders
To the ground.
Listen!
Rain!
Rain is coming.
And it rises to my shoulders
From the ground.

I am not a wise man or a scholar.
I am not an educated woman.
But can’t you see my life is swept away?
I am not an educated woman.

But if you listen,
Rain!
Rain is coming.
Rain falls on my shoulders
To the ground.
Listen!
Rain!
Rain is coming.
And it rises to my shoulders
From the ground.

Why won’t you listen?
Rain!
Rain is coming!
And it brings my weary shoulders
To the ground.
Listen!
Rain!
Rain is coming.
And it buries my broken shoulders
In the ground.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/7014227.stm

Leave a Reply

