DIY Playdough

I recently had a breakthrough in homemaking where there was only one week’s worth of laundry left unfolded at a time.  Score.  Since then, my resolve has deteriorated and I’ve got two weeks worth of folding that’s starting to get mixed up with the dirty clothes, but I WILL PREVAIL. (I hope.)

During my short stint as a groundbreaking homemaker, I decided to try to move up to the next level: homemade stuff.  I decided to make homemade playdough from a recipe I found on Pinterest. What you need: 1 Cup Flour, 1/3 Cup of Salt, 2 tsps Cream of Tarter, 1 Cup Water, 1 Tbsp Vegetable Oil, Food Coloring.

In case you don’t know what salt is.

 Mix together the dry ingredients.  Add the water, vegetable oil, and a few drops of food coloring (I added a lot).  Heat on medium for a couple of minutes until its about the consistency of…erm..playdough.

Why yes, I did scrub down my stove top in preparation for this shot. Thanks for noticing!

Let it cool down and then play! I was really pleased that it feels and smells like “real” playdough.  I would’ve gone for the taste test, but playdough doesn’t seem as appetizing now as it did when I was a kid.  The whole process probably took less than 10 minutes, and it’s a great use for all those yogurt containers I’ve been obsessively saving for no reason.

He asked me to make yellow next. I forgot an made red. Oops.

Just be aware, if you leave the blue playdough on the counter in the yogurt container, your husband might take a peep inside, think that some aggressive blue mold has annihilated his precious Greek yogurt, and throw it in the trash…and then dig it back out again later when you explain that it was homemade playdough.

Leave a Reply

