Help! Gardening 101?

I’m going to confess something that you might not know about me.  I am a killer.  Before you call the police, let me just say that (except for the rare pet fish) my transgressions have been primarily against life of vegetative variety.  I have never successfully kept a plant alive. When I went to college, my friend gave me the hardiest plant he could find, but I killed it anyway. And very quickly, I might add.

Notting Hill Fruitarian Gif

“So, um, these carrots…”
“Have been murdered, yes.”

I’ve moved! Read the full post here.

11 responses to “Help! Gardening 101?

  • Karla

    First get rid of the thistles. Lots of options, dig them, chemicals, etc. Then put down some hydrated lime or eggshells to prevent rotting of tomatoes and peppers. It helps the ph of the soil. Fertilizer will help too. These two are easiest if you buy plants already started. Or start seeds inside right now. Plant in late May after the last frost. Give them lots of water, especially when they start producing. Soaker hoses are convenient. Lettuce and spinach are easy and give a lot in a small space. They can be planted in late April. Have fun!

  • Karla

    I don’t know. I would be pretty liberal with it if nothing’s been planted for a while. You can work it in a little, or do it a while before you plant and rain will soak it in.

  • Beth Good

    #youcomebyithonestly #itsgenetic 🙂

  • Teela Hart

    I’m a serial plant killer too. Sorry. Can’t wait to see how it goes, maybe there is hope for me yet. 🙂

  • Jenee Bare

    I can not keep house plants to save my life…but I say with great humility, I am a great Gardner! There is so much more forgiveness with outside stuff! And now that I have children who want to be outside everyday, I go check on the garden everyday. (It is also a great excuse for encouraging independent play, “i cant i’m weeding the garden!”)

    • Esther

      This might be the best news I’ve heard all day! Thankfully the garden box is in the fenced-in yard, so it’ll be great for the kids. And yay for keeping garden plants alive being easier than keeping houseplants alive!

Leave a Reply

