Part I: To the Progressive Christians Fighting for LGBTQ Rights

The views expressed here represent what I believed in the past, and are not necessarily the views of my family or friends.  This post is part one of a two-part series in response to the ongoing conversations at Eastern Mennonite University and Mennonite Church USA about how to live with our LGBTQ brothers and sisters.

Dear Progressive Christians,

I am speaking as someone who understands that you are trying to fight for the dignity and rights of your LGBTQ selves, family, friends, and fellow humans.  I know how important this is to you, and I know you are trying to do the right thing.

I am speaking, not as the person I am now, but as the person I was a few short years ago.  I am speaking as a conservative Christian who believes that the practice of homosexuality is wrong.  Let me be clear: I am not trying to persuade you of anything.  I only want you to understand me.

I’ve moved! Read the full post here.


Leave a comment